I have been on a craze lately. Since the beginning of the year, I have been on a huge kick to get rid of all the crap I don’t need and will never need. Its amazing how much crap there is. If you take a look around your space, you will realize how much “crap” there is that you will never need. Now, I have always been a collector, a hoarder almost – not quite.

I am the type of person who cant throw anything away. The way I think is that the world is a puzzle and everything has its little place in the world. Everything fits somewhere. Yes, one man’s trash is another man’s treasure. but more likely waste not want not? I am not even sure what that means. What I am trying to say is everything may have some use, if you can get creative – or if someone else can.

What do I do with all this crap?

www.freecycle.org

This is a great site where you list things that you want to give away to people. Its like a message board. you just email the people, and they usually leave things outside their house. What have I gotten off there? projectors, shoe racks
What have I given? books, clothes, projector, sombrero, coupons… A lot more, I have a terrible memory

There are a few restrictions – I unsuccessfully listed cigarette coupons… blah.

Another option, is Craigslist. there is a free section yes. But also, a tip I hadnt thought of before was putting ‘or best offer’ on your free listing. might as well make some money. It kind of goes against the whole giving part, I feel cleaner just putting thing on freecycle for some reason.

I have so many books I have collected over the years. I will never read these, and I am not intrested in having a library to show off my literacy. I have given away many on freecycle, but lately I feel the need to spread the love around a little more. Tomorrow I am going to the nassau county prison to drop off books. I called them up, the only restriction is basically No Hardcovers. I guess they can be used as a weapon. Tell the HS nerds this, give them an edge. We will see what happens. You can also donate to librarys. They put them out for their book sales and may keep some. I already see so many books in the libraries already, I want to make more of a difference. The prison it is… Should be a learning experience.

On that note, part of this craze is fueled by the realization that 1. I need nothing and 2. that whatever I do need, I can get for free. The libary is a great source for books, of course. but also you can get almost any movie in film history from the library system. The one we have on long island works by having all the libraries connected. You can order them online www.alisweb.org and in a week, your video is delivered to your library. NO COST. Better than netflix. if you dont have time to watch them, I say burn it and save it for a rainy day. So, there goes my need to have any dvds. I don’t need to show off my collection to girls to prove my worth. (maybe I should start?)
Also, any information, I can get on the internet. What do I need an encyclopedia for? (I am in the process of giving it away now, I have a taker, but not one with an offer. Its gonna hurt, but it looks like this might be its only home. There is no use for an encyclopedia anymore!)

 

I am going to start making some art out of books. Ive seen crispin glover make it popular and also some beat writers do it
http://www.crispinglover.com/books.htm
here is an example of crispin’s work.
But, one book will take forever to do. I already have a ton of national geographics for pictures that I bought for 10 dollars at a garage sale. Need an exacto, and glue, and a few pens. What you do is make pictures in the pages, paste things in there, highlight certain sections. Basically the book itself is the medium and you have fun with it. Just another thing to do with an unwanted books.

 

 

I found so many boxes in my attic. Empty boxes. Who needs this crap. There are so many people looking for boxes on freecycle all the time. I am glad to put them to some use. ALSO, this goes the other way. You never need to keep boxes. There are always people giving away boxes on this. and if you dont see it listed, you post a wanted ad there, and you usually get a response. So – no need to possess anything really. Everything is now on Demand. This is what the internet is doing for us. not so bad. There are bad things though – another post.

